The Beursfoon KTM team is looking back at the Dutch Open 85cc Championship round in Veendam with mixed feelings. Due to disqualifications in the opening moto, Kay de Wolf, Scott Smulders and Sem Beijer lost their chance of finishing on the podium or to finish in side of the top ten in the overall classification.

The technical track of Veendam was well prepared when the riders entered the track for their practice session. Kay de Wolf found his rhythm straight away and set the second fastest time, Scott Smulders was fourth and Sem Beijer ended the session in thirteenth position.

All three KTM-rijders took a good start in the first moto. Kay started the race in third position and worked his way back up to second in the beginning. When the leader made a mistake he took over the lead and managed to win the race. Scott came out of the first corner in sixth position. He had a good rhythm on the track and worked his way back up to third place. Sem was riding in sixth position for a long time but in the second part of the race he lost a few positions and crossed the finish line in seventh place.

After the race the team was informed that the first twelve riders in the classification were disqualified because there speed was to high at a yellow flag situation. The strange thing is that in the laps that the rider was down, the lap times were two to three seconds slower as in the previous laps.

In their new Fox gear the Beursfoon KTM riders were lining up for the second moto with new motivation. Kay and Scott both took a good start but Sem had a lot more work to do because he came out of the first corner in seventeenth place. Kay was riding a consistent race and finished the race in second position. Scott ended up in third and Sem charged all the way back to eleventh position.

Due to the disqualification in the first moto, Kay finished in sixteenth position overall, Scott ended up in eighteenth place and Sem had to be satisfied with 27th position in the overall standings of the day. This weekend Scott and Sem are riding the ADAC Junior Cup in Gaildorf, Germany.