The Beursfoon KTM team did good business on the scoreboard at the third round of the Dutch Masters of Motocross at Mill. Kay de Wolf won both heats, Scott Smulders finished fifth after some setbacks, and SemBeijer finished in the top ten.

Kay de Wolf knew going into the event that the race at Mill would be an important one. He went on as championship leader, but it would be in his interest to have the maximum possible points lead going into the last round at Lichtenvoorde. He clearly meant business posting a pole time one second clear of the closest opposition.

In sweltering conditions, Kay set off for the day’s racing. He piloted his immaculately prepared KTM into the lead off the start in both heats. This earned him the HGS Holeshot awards. With a unbeatable tempo, he mastered the bumpy sand track, and won with comfortable margins in both heats,  16 seconds in the first, and more than 20 seconds clear in the second.

Kay has now claimed overall victory in two of the three Dutch Master events, and will start in the series finale on 13 July with a 23 point lead.

Scott Smulders was in good form during qualifying, and posted the third fastest time. A decent start in race one got him into fifth position. He quickly moved up to third, and held it for a long time. In the penultimate lap, he lost one spot, and despite a fierce battle to reclaim it, he finished fourth. A technical setback was about to follow, though. His bike was found to be too loud, resulting in a one minute penalty, dropping him to ninth.

With his mind set on rectifying matters, Scott launched into third spot off the start in race two. A mistake dropped him down a spot, and he eventually finished fourth. This earned him fifth overall for the day, and he is fourth in the championship standings, with a five point deficit to third.

Sem Beijer laid claim to thirteenth spot in qualifying. Unlike him, the start on race one was not what he would have hoped for, and he started in 24th spot. He started his march through the field, and he eventually finished 13th. A better start in race two saw him fight for an initial top five position. He dropped back after a mistake, but recovered to claim tenth spot for the race.

The team is looking at a busy period coming up, with races in the Open Dutch Championship series at Rhenen and Eersel on Thursday and Sunday respectively.

Overall Dutch Masters 85cc:
1 Kay de Wolf 1-1
2 Kay Karssemakers 2-2
3 Dave Kooiker 3-3
4 Jack Grayshon 5-5
5 Scott Smulders 9-4
11 Sem Beijer 13-8

Standings Dutch Masters of Motocross 85cc:
1 Kay de Wolf 144 Pnt
2 Kay Karssemakers 116 Pnt
3 Dave Kooiker 109 Pnt
4 Scott Smulders 104 Pnt
5 Liam Everts 68 Pnt
12 Sem Beijer 37 Pnt